worship unpacked I

i feel as though my spiritual life has really been impacted through worship. i want to share some of my thoughts on a series of songs that have caught my attention.

i first heard this song at a wedding i went to in highland park, tx about 3 years ago with my good friend, john elmore. it was the first wedding that i really felt i watch and understood what a marriage ceremony was truly about — uniting in the lord. this song reminds me of how we, as children of god, are united with him in two special ways.

i want to go deeper into the line: “my name is graven on his hands, my name is written on his heart.”

graven means to impress or fix (as a thought) deeply. the lord has us deeply impressed into his heart. i don’t think i can ever fully comprehend that. i try to relate that to my relationships here on earth (i think of people who i think of often that don’t live in the same city as me). god’s picture and action in this is so much more consistent and powerful than mine is here on earth. then, to think of my name being written on his heart — how to even imagine that emma jane brooks is steadily on his radar and  placed on his heart at all times. what a big concept that is so full of truth, yet so hard  to know in its fullest form. i try to compare this to people who the holy spirit reminds me to be thoughtful towards and compassionate towards. i still don’t think of these people all the time, but the lord thinks about us all the time. what a blessing that is for us. don’t take it for granted.

before the throne of god above

Before the throne of God above
I have a strong, a perfect plea:
A great High Priest, whose name is Love,
Who ever lives and pleads for me.

My name is graven on his hands,
My name is written on his heart
;
I know that while in heaven he stands
No tongue can bid me thence depart
No tongue can bid me thence depart.

When Satan tempts me to despair,
And tells me of the guilt within,
Upward I look, and see him there
Who made an end of all my sin.

Because a sinless Savior died,
My sinful soul is counted free;
For God, the Just, is satisfied
To look on Him and pardon me
To look on Him and pardon me

Hallelujah! Hallelujah! Praise the One,
Risen Son of God!

Behold him there, the risen Lamb
My perfect, spotless righteousness,
The great unchangeable I am,
The King of glory and of grace!

One in himself, I cannot die
My soul is purchased by his blood
My life is hid with Christ on high,
With Christ, my Savior and my God
With Christ, my Savior and my God

here’s hoping that you find yourself encouraged that the lord is always with you and you are always with him. may these lyrics move you and encourage you in your relationship with christ.

james 4:8 ::: come near to god and he will come near to you.

Leave a Reply

