friday afternoons

when the week has all but slowed down.. i wait for friday afternoons. my solitude. when i’m free from going to class. when i’m free from any regular plans. when i’m free to spend my time as i desire in the freedom that tomorrow i have no pressing deadlines or agendas. this is especially true today as i will be alone all weekend as my roommates travel to sharptop for tennessee leader weekend. it becomes a time for me to do things that are live-giving  and renewing. do we all do those things enough or at all? have those moments that breathe life, joy into our souls.

for me, my renewal is… spending ample time with the lord. cleaning my living spaces. crafting letters. cooking a homemade meal or baking sweet yummies. going on a walk. strolling through the aisles of the grocery store. causally working on school assignments. lounging around my house. reading for pleasure. accomplishing loads of laundry. lighting some candles. reminding myself that life is only full when we rest in Him and his cross more and more.

today i fulfilled a craving 2 months later – and made my own adjustments in hopes to be healthy(er)!

wheat tortillas instead of white // ground turkey over ground beef

oh the joy of cooking!  it allows me to stop and escape into my creative mode and just do. especially when i get to cook for others.

“One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating.”

— Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright

 { find what breathes life into you and don’t forget to do it frequently }

Leave a Reply

